Skip To Main Content


Morton 201 Scholarship








Morton 201 Foundation Announces First Four Pay It Forward Scholarship Recipients

At Senior Awards Night on Thursday, May 9, 2019, the Morton 201 Foundation announced the names of its first four Pay It Forward Scholarship recipients.

Morton 201 Foundation Board President, Jessica Jaramillo-Flores, Board Member, Scott Goodman and Morton East Principal, Jose Gamboa congratulated Stephanie Vargas and Daisy Patino (pictured left), the Foundation’s first two Pay It Forward Scholarship Recipients at Morton East High School. District Superintendent and Morton 201 Foundation Board Member, Mr. Timothy Truesdale congratulated Citlaly Villegas and Ayme Aguilar (pictured below) as being the first two Pay It Forward Scholarship Recipients from Morton West High School.

These scholarships were made possible by individual and corporate donations as well as through several fundraising efforts.

The Morton 201 Foundation Pay It Forward Scholarship is a $1,000 one-time award given to graduating seniors of Morton East and Morton West who attend an accredited college, university, technical, or trade school. The award is based on outstanding academic performance, contributions to the school, extracurricular activities (or work experience) financial need, community service, and overall citizenship.

To be eligible, applicants must have a GPA of 3.00 or higher and write a short essay (no more than 2 pages) or submit a 3-5 min video describing a difficult challenge they have faced, how they were able to overcome it, and what have they learned from the experience.

In addition, two (2) teacher recommendations describing how the student has exhibited the What I Will, I Can spirit are also required.

Prior to the awards ceremony, a Meet & Greet was held in the culinary labs at each school where the scholarship recipients and their families were able to meet with several of the Morton 201 Foundation Board Members as well as several donors.

The Morton 201 Foundation would like to thank the following for their generous and continued support in helping to make these scholarships possible.

Copper Sponsors ($1,000 - $2,499)

Jay and Lorraine Popek
Town of Cicero
Cicero Voters Alliance
Morton College
Eileen Szubert

Bronze Sponsor ($500 -$999)

BMO Harris

Morton 201 Scholarship2